14-14 May 2008


Tickets: 2

Rimini Protokoll will bring their current production; Call Cutta in a Box to this year’s We Are Here 3.0 festival, presented by Project Arts Centre and Dublin Docklands Development Authority.

Supported by the Goethe Institut, Helgard Haug will participate in a public discussion about her work with Rimini Protokoll, in the Goethe Institut, 37 Merrion Square, Dublin 2, on Wednesday 14 May at 6pm. This is a free event but places are limited.

Helgard studied at the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften (Institute of Applied Theatre Studies) in Giessen, Germany where she met Stefan Kaegi and Daniel Wetzel. They work together (in various combinations) under the name of Rimini Protokoll. They are recognized as being among the leaders and creators of the theatre movement known as “Reality Trend” (Theater der Zeit), which has exerted a powerful influence on the alternative theatre scene. Each project begins with a concrete situation in a specific place and is then developed through an intense exploratory process. They have attracted international attention with their dramatic works, which take place in that grey zone between reality and fiction. Since 2000, Rimini Protokoll has brought its “theatre of experts” to the stage and into city spaces, interpreted by non-professional actors who are called “experts” for that very reason.

Among others, the three have created Shooting Bourbaki (Haug/Kaegi/Wetzel), which won the NRW-Impulse Prize in 2003 (the same year the “Theater” magazine yearbook called them the most promising young directors of the year); Deadline (Haug/Kaegi/Wetzel), presented in the Berlin Theatre Encounters in 2004; Schwarzenbergplatz (Haug/Kaegi/Wetzel), nominated in Austria for the Nestroy Prize for Theatre, and Wallenstein (Haug/Wetzel), performed in the Theatre Encounters in 2006. Their extremely topical pièce, Mnemopark(Kaegi), won the Jury Prize at the Politik im freienTheater (Politics in Free Theatre) Festival, while Karl Marx: Das Kapital. Erster Band won the Mülheimer Dramatiker Prize in 2007. Last November, Haug, Kaegi and Wetzel were awarded the German DER FAUST prize for theatre.

Skip to content